Saturday was my “Bad Movie Day”. It was raining again and I decided the kill the afternoon by seeing two bad movies: TMNT and The Last Mimzy.


I like Bad Movie Day. If the movie really is that bad, I get to feel self-righteous and nauseous. But if the movie surprises you and actually managed to be decent, it’s like watching angels burst from the screen and sing “Nyah, nyah, you were wrong!” Which reminds that I should really ask what they put in the popcorn, but I digress.

I generally dislike the Ninja Turtles. I watched part of the first movie on TV and went through a bottle of Kaopectate. Nuh-uh! Not again, but yet here I was watching the movie. And you know what…?

I liked it. I really liked it! Raphael had a distinct personality with his own story arc. There was actual feeling between the characters and the story drove forward because of the characters. I mean, come on, this is a @#$! Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie. You’re not supposed to have writing!

To be fair, it’s not up there with The Departed or any other really good movie, but it is better than X-Men 3. But then again, the screen saver on my DVD player was better.

Suggestion: Approach this movie with low expectations and remember it’s just a children’s comic book movie for that kind of audience. And for that kind of thing, this movie worked.

